Saturday, March 13, 2021 at 2:00 PM
Main Stage
Saturday, March 13, 2021 at 7:30 PM
Main Stage

IVES | Variations on America
BRUCH | Violin Concerto No. 1
DVOŘÁK | Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”
Sirena Huang, violin
Concert Sponsor: Dale Sorensen Real Estate, Inc.
Antonin Dvořák was Director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York City from 1892-1895. While there, he explored African American and Native American music. In 1893, the New York Philharmonic commissioned a symphony from Dvořák, resulting in “From the New World.” It was considered a triumph and, once published, quickly became known world-wide. Max Bruch wrote three violin concertos, but only his 1st is considered to be standard in the violin repertoire. Charles Ives wrote his Variations on America, when he was just 17 years old. Originally for organ (Ives was employed as an organist), it was written for the 1892 Brewster, NY July 4 celebration. Ives said, at the time, that playing it was “almost as much fun as playing baseball.” The work was orchestrated by American composer William Schuman in 1962.

Back to Schedule