American Landscapes: Brevard Symphony Orchestra

Saturday, October 22, 2016 at 8:00 PM
Main Stage

American Landscapes

Subscription 1 :: Saturday, October 22, 2016 :: 8PM

Aaron Copland – Outdoor Overture
Mark O’Connor – Appalachia Waltz
Antonin Dvorak – Symphony No. 9 – Mvt. 2 (National Park Suite)*
Aaron Copland – Fanfare for the Common Man
Ferde Grofe – Sunset from Grand Canyon Suite
Aaron Copland – Rodeo: Four Dance Episodes for Orchestra (Rodeo!)*

*Live photochoreography by Westwater Arts.

The Brevard Symphony Orchestra’s 2016-17 Season opens with American Landscapes - a special All-American concert event unlike anything you’ve ever seen! Three enormous panoramic screens will be suspended above the orchestra and you’ll see two breathtaking presentations created by Multimedia Artist Nicholas Bardonnay of Westwater Arts. The National Park Suite, created in celebration of the 100th Anniversary of the National Park Service, is set to music from Dvorak’s New World Symphony. Aaron Copland’s colorful Rodeo ballet score accompanies an incredible montage of celebrating one of the American West’s great pastimes in Westwater Arts’ Rodeo! Additional musical selections by Copland, Grofe and O’Connor round out this one-of-a-kind concert event!

Back to Schedule