Brevard Symphony Orchestra: Subscription Concert 2

Saturday, November 22, 2014 at 8:00 PM
Main Stage

Ion Ivanovici – Waves of the Danube
Ciprian Porumbescu – Ballade (Daniel Szasz, violin)
Georges Enescu/arr. Harmon – Romanian Rhapsody for Violin and Orchestra (Daniel Szasz, violin)
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Selections from Swan Lake
Igor Stravinsky – Suite from The Firebird (1919)

Two colorful Russian ballet scores about birds are the featured works on this mesmerizing program. The beauty and poignancy of Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake is followed by the magical sounds of Stravinsky’s first masterpiece – The Firebird.

The first half of the concert features music from Romania, including Ivanovici’s familiar Anniversary Waltz (Waves of the Danube) and two works for solo violin featuring Romanian violinist Daniel Szasz. (NOTE: Charlie Harmon’s arrangement of Enescu’s familiar Romanian Rhapsody for solo violin and orchestra will receive its world premiere performance)!

Enhance your concert experience! You are invited to attend Concert Conversations with Christopher Confessore. This informative discussion begins approximately 40 minutes before the performance. Main floor is open seating during this interactive chat.

For artists bios and program notes, please click here.

Save 30- 50% on tickets by purchasing a season subscription. Season tickets are prorated for three or more performances. More information at

Back to Schedule